Narc Narc, Who’s There?

Michele Merritt
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readSep 15, 2020

--

Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

The ground beneath me unstable

To find the why, I am unable

This love comes undone

Another game to be won

Breadcrumbs and eggshells

Mining for my truths to tell

Casting the net and reeling me in

Tossing me out to sea again

And each time you bullshitted me

Spoke hollow apologies

Stoked insecurities

Stole my vulnerabilities

Anger grew like a storm

From being silenced and scorned

You walked into the dark clouds

Feigning shock when rain poured down

Fawning, fetching, shrinking little violet

All while searching for a smear campaign to pilot

And so you found your smoking gun

Raging woman, wild river on the run

Now you recruit monkeys for your bidding

But it is only you whom you are kidding

Sacrificial goat you have made me

Easier to ghost me and fade me

Flipped script, lamb who needs protecting

Insecurities you never stop projecting

So tell me, mirror on your wall

Who is the victim after all?

--

--

Michele Merritt
Resistance Poetry

Philosophy professor. Adoptee. Advocate. Activist. Marathon swimmer. Cheese consumer. I write about dogs a lot. michelemerritt.com