Nothing to Hide: Not Anymore

Patsy Starke
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readMar 8, 2020

--

photo-1579039437018–0305d33e69f9 by Kyle @kylewilliamurban-unsplash.com

Came out of the closet that fine day.
Shouted out, world this is me.
My old secret identity,
made new and transparent.

Nothing to hide,
not anymore.

Can’t ever go back,
where darkness offends me.
Why is it so hard,
to love people like me?

Nothing to hide,
not anymore.

Called myself she
but, most called me he.
They can’t help it,
Neither can I.

Nothing to hide,
not anymore.

Hard to be pretty but,
some say, I’m beautiful.
They are too,
because they see me.

Nothing to hide,
not anymore.

Was never beat up
but so beat down.
Seems so hard
to keep myself free.

Nothing to hide.
No, not anymore.

Some may hate me.
Others might not agree.
But who are they to say,
I can’t be me.

Patsy Starke 3/4/2020

--

--

Patsy Starke
Resistance Poetry

Registered Nurse, Transgender Woman In a lifelong transition, realizing my place here. Trying to make sense of my life, while trying to make a difference.