Catgrass. Photo: my own

Ode to Oz’s Little Neighbor

Carmen Fong, MD
Resistance Poetry

--

Where furry-footed Frodo lives
A bunch of billionaires have buried bunkers
Eleven feet under the ground.
On reading this, I found myself
Waffling between envy and fury: why
Didn’t I think of that? And why,
I could never afford that.

On the rolling green hills crawling with sheep and
Kiwis
Coronavirus has been eliminated. Suddenly,
New Zealand seems as sweet an option
As Canada during the 2016 election.

Three cheers for women and science at the helm!
To hell with bunkers, I’d live above ground
with 19 people per square mile.
If only all the flights weren’t cancelled.

-c.f.fong

--

--

Carmen Fong, MD
Resistance Poetry

Writer, artist, surgeon NYC>> ATL. LGBTQ+ Asian. Doximity Op Med Fellow ‘22-’23. www.carmenfong.com, https://linktr.ee/Hongkongfong