Of Course I’m Not a Racist!

A satirical poem

Noah Levy
Resistance Poetry
1 min readJun 6, 2020

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

I’m not racist

How bassist

Of you to claim

With such aim

That I’m a bigot

Not giving a shit

With my silence

That it’s violence.

Of course I’m not

Racist I bought

The latest Lamar EP!

As you see

With my wallet

I get to talk it

And tweet it

And live it

And pretend it

That I’m not a bigot

Not a dimwit

How can that be

I have black friends, you see?

I just don’t hang out

In the whereabout

Of the hood

As they said it’s not good

That’s where shootings are

They’ll rob your car

At the lot

That’s what we’re taught

And so I thought

I can be a good citizen

In Michigan

Without crossing the tile

Of Eight Mile.

It’s not my fault

That you’re salt

Of my life

And a wife

In the suburb

Where crime we curb

I’m comfy

In my onesie

While you protest

For progress

But what’s progress

When all I see is regress?

I’m comfortable, you see

Shouldn’t you also be?

No, that’s only right

If you’re white!

--

--

Noah Levy
Resistance Poetry

💻📖 Founder of The Riff / un estadounidense en España 🇪🇸