One Day Hope Says It Will Be

This is why we must dream

Jesse Wilson
Resistance Poetry

--

In my quiet moments, I dream awake of a voyage to lands so far away the ventricles of my heart know in my lifetime we will fail to reach.

But I am not just sad. I am beyond the belly of frustrated! Wishing we could live in a better world. Knowing I share the dream bestowed upon us by our ancestors. A dream planted in their hopes, cultivated in our legacy.

Now entrusted firmly in our clasped hands, so that we may carry the thread of expectations so rich and full of promise through generations; one day, we will reach the land assured by the salve of their imaginations.

A salve that, despite the years of torment and oppression, has stood firm like a mighty scaffold protecting our hearts, keeping them free.

So this is why I dream. I dream because my heart beats for the visions
of when we get there.

I see the beauty and splendour of Kings and Queens in an all-encompassing, enticing new world, built from the riches of our actions, the decisions and consequences of our thoughts.

I dream of a world where we have seen the last first to be taken, where we have long forgotten the reasons why we would need to remark and celebrate the first Black female prime minister/ president.

--

--

Jesse Wilson
Resistance Poetry

Writer | Poet - Inspiring people to find their purpose and live healthier, happier, more loving, and fulfilled lives.