Paranoid

A Poem

Jonathan Greene
Resistance Poetry

--

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

I have no way of knowing
whether my paranoid demeanor
in relation to this virus
is warranted or not
I read two minutes a day
and the numbers are bad,
horrendously terrible where I am,
so I stay in, behind glass
and wait for it to pass
But with no way of knowing
when that will be and
others scratching and clawing to get out
I’m left feeling paranoid

I guess I could go out,
but even when I think of it
I start doing what-ifs upon what-ifs
and then my final fever dream
has me dead and my kids alone
And some think this is paranoid
because I can wear a mask
and be careful and use sanitizer
but isn’t there always a risk,
at least right now, in my spot?
Parks opened and I don’t want to see
all the people attempting to stay apart
but so wanting to come together
and I don’t get how we are opening
a single thing for anyone right now
since we are the 47th largest state
with the 2nd most cases and
every day the numbers trend up

--

--

Jonathan Greene
Resistance Poetry

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com