people in the night

Rhonda Marrone
Resistance Poetry
Published in
2 min readMay 23, 2020

--

Photo by Roman Denisenko on Unsplash

a half-lit golden neon cross
glows eerily in the fog
floating high over city streets;
half burning, half in darkness.

under the half-cross,
three city cop cars
with blue lights flashing
are directing bright searchlights
into the corner of a convenience store parking lot
like interrogation lights
cornering a single man
who carries all his belongings
in a bag on his back.
the horror of the scene
is lost in the beauty of refracted light sparkling in mist.

a young woman rummages
through a dumpster
in the fog of the night.
I ask her what she’s looking for.
“I’m just looking through the stuff that was thrown out here today.
Don’t worry; I’ll put it all back when I’m through.”

it’s garbage, how can you mess it up?
someone has yelled at this poor hungry child for messing up their garbage.
I ask if she’s hungry and take her a sandwich.
the dark and fog hide her.

--

--

Rhonda Marrone
Resistance Poetry

Poetry and Essay Writer. Be Open Editor. Lover of all things nature. You can most likely find me sitting under a tree ,watching birds, writing poems.