Persistence and Resistance

A Villanelle

Violet DeTorres
Resistance Poetry
1 min readOct 26, 2017

--

Alas, the powers that be, think they have injured me

Constantly harassed, the perpetrators never held accountable

You’re not the first, nor the last, and I will not flee

My writings on feminism, they are important to see

Yet, I can never defend my honor, malicious words are bountiful

Alas, the powers that be, think they have injured me

So, this is the biased version, my views silenced, this is the reality

The virtual patriarchy has spoken, your actions are irresponsible

You’re not the first, nor the last, I will not flee

Oh little alter boy, you don’t scare me

Your cadre of misogynists, degenerates reprehensible

Alas, the powers that be, think they have injured me

O kneel before me, thou sickened by your hyperbole

Karma is not blind, you’ll be held responsible

You’re not the first, nor the last, I will not flee

Hide behind the glow, as your fingers hit the keys

Bitter old men, devouring women, verbal cannibals

Alas, the powers that be, think they have injured me

You’re not the first, nor the last, I will not flee

--

--

Violet DeTorres
Resistance Poetry

The Master’s Tools Will Never Dismantle the Master’s House // " When someone shows you who they are, believe them the first time" --Maya Angelou