Political Illusions

The demand for a populist leader

Imad
Resistance Poetry

--

Photo by roya ann miller on Unsplash

Is it not strange how
A political party can present itself
As the party of the downtrodden,
The minority ethnicity and the working class.
Yet still be subservient to the will of the elites.
Wall Street and Silicon Valley donations,
The engine that keeps it running.

I think it is stranger even
When their solution to their base’s problem
Is to try and deceive them,
By making it appear that they are being more progressive,
Installing coloured faces
In some cabinet positions.
Yes, that signals true change is coming.

It is being more progressive,
To diversify political offices,
But I ask does anything really change
When the only thing progressive about them is their skin-tone?
Pro-corporate views define their resume.

I think the populace will see through these distractions,
The illusion that meaningful change is coming
And with time they may lose those voters.

--

--

Imad
Resistance Poetry

I write to understand myself and the world around me || Trying to be as human as I can be