Political Poetry

To know the power of words is to use them wisely

Arundhati
Resistance Poetry

--

They say, “you make too much noise
with your bold words in free verse,
poetry should be lovely, not harsh
in soft musical rhythm and italics.”

why make poetry political?

I say, “because I can, because I know
the power of words and I’ve pledged
to use mine wisely.”

I write about love and heartbreaks
in all their glory but on some days,
poetry is my weapon and my words
are the bullets, and if they hurt you,
you might be the problem.

take the hint,
my poems might just be for you!

© Arundhati 2020 Thank you for reading! :)

--

--

Arundhati
Resistance Poetry

I write because i’m aware of the power words have. I use mine to tell stories, occasionally rant on social issues and turn my life and self into poetry.