origins unknown

Psychopaths are not funny!

Rob Cullen
Resistance Poetry
1 min readJun 5, 2020

--

But it’s a funny thing
and it’s odd
for me to say
after working
with psychopaths
for forty years
to see one
operate openly
in full public view

The glibness
always triggers
that ringing
of my bells.
The inappropriate
threat
dressed
as humour.

The ease of telling lies
that are so obviously
lies and his insistence
that they’re the truth.

The sexual
undertones
the constant jokes
involving sex
and how she looks.
And then there’s the effect
you have on women
making their skin squirm
a creep after all is a creep.

And that degree
of manipulation
that makes
the listener
laugh
even when
they are
the actual victim.

And afterwards
the master stroke
he apologises
asks forgiveness
if he’s over
done it
in some way.
It’s just locker talk
after all
just what boys say to boys
there’s no intention meant.

I examine you
I know you
I am not fooled.

And Resist, Stay Safe and Live On!

©robcullen 2016

--

--

Rob Cullen
Resistance Poetry

Rob Cullen artist, writer, poet, artist — admires Lorca, the view of my garden, the thoughts of my sheepdog. Likes cooking what I grow. www.celfypridd.co.uk