Reaching In

An unusual field trip

Jeffrey Field
Resistance Poetry
1 min readOct 7, 2020

--

Source

Reach into your heart,
for in that most holy of places
you will find the answer
to that which you seek.

So,
I put on my gloves
(just in case)
and
slowly descended
and
(just like in biology class)
I got mixed up…
took the wrong artery
and
ended up
in the left ventricle,
so
I backtracked my way
to the right ventricle
and
there I found…
a rabbit,
so
I pulled
the rabbit
out of my heart
and
it looked at me
with twinkle-twinkle
beady eyes
and
it said
It’s just like the flu.
and
then it bit me,
so
I tore its head
from its body
and
I took the right foot
for my keychain
and
I took the left foot
for my memory chest
and
the rest is history.

--

--

Jeffrey Field
Resistance Poetry

It ain't what you think. Former newsman, car salesman, teacher. Everything is Thou, if you so allow it. You can find some of it at https://youtu.be/w6RtVjMDHzE