Skipping Rhymes For The New Age

Kate Holly-Clark
Resistance Poetry
Published in
2 min readSep 24, 2018

“I have a deadly nightshade
So twisted does it grow-
with berries black as midnight
And a skull as white as snow
The vicar’s cocky young son
Came to drink my tea
He touched me without asking
now he’s buried ‘neath a tree”

— trad “Girls Skipping Rhyme” from Chokely in Wynterset

don’t get mad. get even.

Jan Kops [Public domain or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)], via Wikimedia Commons

Walking to my job and he called me names
Tried to grab my body and called it games
Talked to his mother and got some poison ivy
Enough in his shorts that now he’s walking lively
How many days is he gonna itch?

One
Two
Three
Four

I thought he was a friend of mine and then he spiked my drink
Woke up in the morning and I could barely think
He told the boys that I’m a slut and barely stirred his willy
So the next thing served him in the bar had a big dose of lily.

How many sips do you think it will take?

One
Two
Three
Four

Johnny bought me one drink
Johnny bought me two
Johnny made me do things
I didn’t want to do
Johnny came for coffee
I put hemlock in his tea
Now Johnny can’t do anything
To anyone or me.

How many breaths does
Johnny have left?
One
Two
Three
Four

Oleander oleander
such a flower you’ve got
Oleander oleander
stewing in a pot.
Waiting for the day that Billy uses fists
or ties her up again or breaks her wrists

How many drops will do Billy in?

One
Two
Three
Four

--

--