Slow Life

A poem about slowing down to appreciate the beauty of life

Afiyah The Poet
Resistance Poetry

--

Photo by MI PHAM on Unsplash

I wanna go slow
and see the sparkles
in your eyes

I wanna go slow
and hear the melodies
of the feathered ones

I wanna go slow
and cherish the life
all around me

I wanna go slow
to take in this life

fast life
fast money
fast growth

they come at a cost
of sanity and peace
robbing the treasures
we all possess

We give up
the very things
we try to gain from fast life
impoverishing
our hearts and minds
with excess that we accumulate

Let me pause
and go slow
being intentional
with every step I take

What I’m missing
I won’t gain
from the high-speed race
of fast life

I will gather
what my heart seeks
from the beauty
each moment brings

Moment to see
Moment to feel
Moment to love

Slow life
Rich life
Slow life is what I choose to live.

(365 Days of Poetry — Day 223)

--

--

Afiyah The Poet
Resistance Poetry

Writing poetry 365 days. Weaving words to express my inner landscape. Writing about love, pain, faith, struggles, healing...life.