Stardust

The sparkle that blinds

Imad
Resistance Poetry

--

Photo by Steve Halama on Unsplash

I know you,
Or at least I thought I did.

You’re one of us,
Or at least you used to be.

Well, you’re a star now,
No longer a part of us.

Do you look the same?
I think you’re a little lighter now,
Than the rest of us.

I think it’s the glow that superstar brings.
It takes some of that indigenous darkness away.
The sparkle of the star dazzles away the dark tint.

Don’t you think so?

I mean it must do. Clearly,
You must’ve gone through some sort of physical transformation.
A surgery perhaps,
Or was it the star dust that got in your lungs and somehow found it’s way to your head?

Were you dazzled into a trance? The façade that is your life,
Is your transformation all in your head?

Perhaps. But who knows?
I saw your photo op with that guy whose name must not be mentioned.

You know who I’m talking about,
The one with a certain distaste for indigenous folk.
Amazonia, if…

--

--

Imad
Resistance Poetry

I write to understand myself and the world around me || Trying to be as human as I can be