Parasite

Summiting Behavior

Poetry

Samuel Cracia
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readJul 21, 2020

--

I climbed the hill
And I saw the sun shining up in the sky
And the eagles flying over the prey

I climbed the hill
Barefoot, struggling to bear the pain
Trying to cover each hurt with grass, leaf litter and mud

I climbed the hill
As if it was the unique goal of my life
As if I was the only man in the world able to climb it

I reached the summit of my journey
Ignoring why it had to be there
And I saw the eagles flying over the prey

Then, I threw up a scream
And it glued me to the earth

I could not escape
I was infected and doomed since my first step

I climbed the hill for someone else
And whoever it was, it emerged from my belly
To see the sun shining up in the sky

*Inspired in the way Entomophthora parasitizes fruit-flies.

--

--