Tell Me Your Name

A Poem

Devyn Sharel
Resistance Poetry

--

Photo by Houcine Ncib on Unsplash

I hear they call you many things
But there’s only one I’d like to know
You may come with many layers
And 99 of them are just for show

Who really knows your name?
Only those with access
To the privilege of knowing you
Such a marvelous prestige
To be wrapped in your aura

Tell Me Who Knows your name?
Can I be the one to call you by
The unsearchable coined termed
Not named at birth?

No need to tell me your name
Because you told it the moment
You spoke, stepped and blessed
The earth from which you came

And even when you return to
Mother Nature’s blissful home
Your name will ring in the ears
Of those who knew you well
Leaving all remnants of greatness
Scattered throughout the earth

Devyn B Copyright 2020

Read More Like This

--

--

Devyn Sharel
Resistance Poetry

Writer & poet. Film enthusiast. I write “because it’s so much fun, Jan!” - Q. Tarantino.