Thanks For Your Email

A Poem

Jonathan Greene
Resistance Poetry

--

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

I really appreciate you reaching out
about my child and their schoolwork
while there is a virus ravaging our state
I know you think this assignment
is very important, but I miss your point
as I am too busy wondering about the future
Their future, beyond distance-learning
that you were wholly unprepared to start
but still find it necessary to ask about
When the “school day” should start
As if we will make our kids eat lunch
at 10:30 am every day, like you do
As if we will make our kids get up
at 5:30 am every day, like you do

Thanks for your email
Actually, we are doing just fine
during the worldwide pandemic
that you forgot to ask about
But beyond the news forecasting
a hellscape of disaster on our country
I’m definitely concerned about
a couple of “missing” assignments right now
because since we are stuck at home
I can’t imagine that students have worries
from the confines of their bedrooms
where they have to video chat
with their friends, who they can’t see
and hope they will be able to
one day, see face-to-face again
But in the middle of…

--

--

Jonathan Greene
Resistance Poetry

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com