The Horror of Truth

Dermott Hayes
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readMar 15, 2020

--

Hayes

Oh my god, I don’t know
my head from my toe,
who to kiss, who to blow
the rules aren’t too clear, anymore
I get sick, I get hot, it’s just a fever
then I cough, to say that they started,
It was just like I farted,
now the stink in the room
is not decay but the horror of truth
infiltrating,
smear yourself with blood,
entrails of corrupt manifestations
the dead claim the dead
even when they’re still kicking.

Zombie shoppers descend in hordes
to capture mountains of loo rolls
a clean arse in a crisis
could be called a catharsis.
The corruption of self serving greed,
illogical metastasis,
biblical plague, herd culling,
sky stealing clouds of locusts,
guts from the earth
spewing fire and brimstone,
screaming torrents
blow furious apocalypse,
pause now to listen,
see the mountain spring glisten,
hear life awaken,
daffodils blooming,
spring lambs abirthing,
the quiet hum, perennial voice waking
enough is enough
killing’s not living.

--

--