POETRY

The Last Faith Standing

A poem inspired by Nietzsche’s views on faith

Arundhati
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readAug 23, 2020

--

My faith is diaphanous like a house of cards,
collapsing under a roof that Nietzsche guards,
drenched in the rain of my unanswered prayers
and stomping in puddles of ink in despair.

If faith is an escape from the truth we fear,
I quit building a house that’s doomed to fall.

I’ve failed to keep faith alive down in rat holes,
when the roof fell, and skies cried for lost souls,
I’m destined to be sent to hell to think otherwise,
bereft of sacred teachings and sleeping with mice.

If faith won’t let me make love in the name of purity,
I quit joining hands for a prayer that goes unheard.

They light candles to brighten up a prosaic room,
and the hot wax scalds my skin as if to consume
every diabolic inch of it and build my soul anew,
only to have me reject their rules and be rescued

by the sole faith in peril and grave need for help,
perhaps the greatest faith I could ever have is in myself.

© Arundhati 2020

--

--

Arundhati
Resistance Poetry

I write because i’m aware of the power words have. I use mine to tell stories, occasionally rant on social issues and turn my life and self into poetry.