The Nine Lives of a Human Being

Virginia Roces
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readJun 5, 2020
Image by SeppH from Pixabay

Where will I be?
—Will I be
Part of that
Cyclorama
Of all my years
And of theirs,
Our years, a race
Of restless clawing,
Of pellucid imprint

Will I be
Part of their
Reconnaissance
Into nature, 9–5,
Part of their plenary
Decision to domesticate,
To calm me down?
I am, we are
The product of

Midnight-fighting,
And the result of
Gaucherie,
A flexible creature in
An eolian universe,
The same one
Begging our existence
To contribute movement,
Change.

I am, we are
Rapier in tongue,
A farrago of
Living testaments,
A motley of
Citizens in alleys
With faces of
Every color;
With voices of

Every kind;
With a touch, a sharp
Print upon the world
A cry toward the night
None other can provide.
I am I.
We are we.
This is our
Existence.

We are beings with
Nine full lives.

--

--

Virginia Roces
Resistance Poetry

An aspiring “whole” human being. Constantly struggling with myself and local traffic.