The People vs The Army

Protests in Nigeria and the colonial past of the African continent

Imad
Resistance Poetry

--

Photo by Jay Rembert on Unsplash

Press release from the Nigerian military.
“Our soldiers were absent
They were not at the scene,
The witnesses, they are lying – they do not know what they saw”.
How about all the cameras,
Is that not proof that it was you?
Second statement follows;
“Alright it was us
But rubber bullets, we swear”.
You seem not to have seen the footage,
All the bloodshed was recorded.
Army issues a third statement;
“It was us and we used live ammunition,
Now what? Are you going to protest again?
Because we have got plenty more bullets in store,
Our American friends make sure we never run out”.

The people keep silent and
Carry on with their lives
Like the killings never occurred.
Just an event in history,
How you make life cheap.
Impunity and injustice,
A recurring theme from our past.
A Soldier can kill you
And get away blame free,
Tell me how you expect me – an ordinary civilian
With a family to take…

--

--

Imad
Resistance Poetry

I write to understand myself and the world around me || Trying to be as human as I can be