image from Nightmare on Elm Street 5

The Road to 2.0

Matthew Broyles
Resistance Poetry

--

I have stood in wonder all my life

Watching technology grow in sophistication

Dreaming about the possibilities of the future

And yet

I missed the important part

Which is that every advance for machines

Has meant a step back for humanity

I don’t mean productivity

Or connectivity

Or profitability

I mean humanity

It’s happened so much that we don’t even see it

Sleep schedules disregarded

Parental leave deprioritized

Sick time rolled back

Retirement security weakened

We are being shaped to fit the machines’ needs

Rather than the machines being shaped to fit ours

We have developed systems

In place of communities

Protocols

In place of covenants

GDP

In place of DNA

But because it has taken place

Over such a long stretch

--

--