The Wind Blows

muthita wanla
Resistance Poetry
Published in
3 min readSep 12, 2020
Photo by the author

The Tub

Alone in the white tub I see

A vision of a woman waiting for me at the closed door

Lights peeked from under it but my eyes hurt

I cried out for my mother, but it wasn’t her who was there

It wasn’t her, just me, the tub, and the voices in my head.

They are whispering from behind the door

For me to listen to them and give up on everything

Wouldn’t it be easier? You will no longer feel the pain

The pain that is eating you alive

The flapping of the moth’s wings inside your chest,

Set it free with that knife in your hands.

Let she helps.

I drowned my head under the water, flushing out the noises

But I can feel it in my chest, my heart,

The angry movement of the skeletal creature.

Rip it open, then, and fly away,

Only you can set it free.

The ghost steps closer to the claws of the tub in her long white dress and hollow eyes

In her hands are keys to the locked irons on my wrist

To the chains that bounded my here

Swollen eyes meet the empty eye sockets

The water was cold like the stare from the pit of her empty eyes

And slowly my life swirled from the skin under the chain

Red was dripping into the clear water

As I smiled at the reflection of an unknown face

Ripples formed as my eyes rain again.

Her bare feet took a step closer

I can smell freedom from her

Cry no more, child, you shall be free

Then she handed me the key

The key made of silver, shining blade.

The River

The raft was made of broken dreams and shattered hope

And it carried me on this river of my tears

I lied naked under the blazing sun

As the wind blows through my hair for the final time.

What lies await at the end of the flow?

If it is Lethe then I’ll gladly drink from it

Swirling beneath me are souvenirs of unfulfilled hopes

Take me to the end of this flow.

The Ocean

It’s a pity my feet would feel the touch of the wide green carpet no more

The soft caress of the grass that would tickle my naked toes

In that summer field under the warm sunlight and clear blue sky

The picture long gone from my memory

The wind cries, no more, no more.

Now I let myself sink down where the currents embrace me with their cold hands

And drags my fragile limbs deeper and deeper to the bed of broken shells

But right now it is nothing, nothing, under my legs

Nothingness, as empty as my heart

I hear the song of the ocean in my head, whispering

The soothing hum, telling me all is fine

What is lost always goes to the water where it came from

And I am lost, so here I am, crawling back to its comfort

Though it is cold unlike the warmth of my mother,

And nothing awaits when the tide dries.

The wind blows out the bruised petal from the grasp of the sepal

But this is the nature’s calling

I’m sorry it can’t stand the strong wind

And let myself fall away from your love.

--

--