The Wind is Only Energy

Emma Briggs
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readSep 28, 2020

--

Photo by Jake Walker on Unsplash

Restless, like the wind, I cannot be still.
It roars up the hill, too strong for wings.
Brave birds make arrows to penetrate the air, my brain.
I fire them back to the sky.
The trees tire of the reckless dance.
I do too, it wears me out.
Everything turns cold and dry.
I can’t feel the sun anymore.
Where are we going?
It circles in from the sea and returns at night,
around again. What can I do?
Running without moving forward. For what?
It howls in my ears. It drowns my voice.
I can’t hear anything else.
Desperate thoughts blow into the clouds.
I see them as they dissipate.
Don’t be distracted from your path.
Resist the pull and wait for calm.
The wind is only energy.

--

--

Emma Briggs
Resistance Poetry

Australian writer, environmental activist, hang-gliding assistant & former sailor, journalist & clown. Poetry collection available now. www.emmabriggs.net