The World Falls Before A Colossus

Let’s gather our strength: love.

Christyl Rivers, Phd.
Resistance Poetry

--

Behold my mighty jet engine-powered scythe!
I cut down nations.
I cut down economies.
I cut down your sporty games.
I even cut your Anthropocene.

My weight is the burden of
tidal surging tears,
Sweeping on distant shores
Redolent with rot
Of your yesterdays.

You think you are so big.
I am big. Among the largest virus,
More than 100,000 nanometers, wide!
I may be bigger than your ignorance,
Of science, medicine, life itself…

I am mighty. I am unmatched.
I wear a spiky crown,
What do you wear,
Fear? Or hubris?

If so, I will return in waves.
I’ll stand astride your greatest cities,
I’ll tower over your puny empires,
I’ll laugh at your gloating, lead-cold, leaders
I ‘ll exhale my glycoprotein breath,

And I will inhale your world.

--

--

Christyl Rivers, Phd.
Resistance Poetry

Ecopsychologist, Writer, Farmer, Defender of reality, and Cat Castle Custodian.