“Paintbrush Play” by Jose Laurenco

They Don’t Retire Slaves.

Murasak3y
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readMay 12, 2020

--

Take the time to take a look

They don’t retire slaves

Do you really want to work until you’re inside your grave?

Never leave the beaten path because you were afraid?

Doesn’t mean you found your lane just because the road was paved

But they say you sound insane,

if you become bold

Refrain

From following paint that has grown old

A stain

leading you to somewhere that you’ve known is pain

But we’d rather know the pain,

than to hope and pray

We’d rather know the way,

than to cope with age

Failing to cross the tolls we’re supposed to pay

ones that may have slowed us but help us cope today

Cause if I create a way, then that could make it fade

The security I get from all the debts I’ve paid

In debt before I even had to take a name

They hold me back but they also make me sane

I’m not coloring in ways that make me question aim

A pain each generation faces

I could have changed but

feared the fangs of having new directions laid

When I die inside the lines

At least you can say we paint the same.

--

--

Murasak3y
Resistance Poetry

essence of spirituality is contentment Know yourself, heal your universe Corruption causes justice to appear insane Increase awareness, decrease reactivity