They Said, “?”

Patsy Starke
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readDec 4, 2019

--

photo by Kyle Glenn-Unsplash.com

Didn’t they say, “you shouldn’t do that?”
Or, “don’t go that way.”

How about, “you are going to burn, unless?”

And, “can’t you understand? listen!”
“We are just trying to help.” So they said.

Oh! and this, “do as we said, not as we’ve done.”

So alone with their thoughts,
running through my mind,
while I run away, far away!

To another planet, to another world.

I still hear them.

They said,
“Won’t you come home?
we miss you.”

What?

I don’t get it!

I don’t want to!

They said,

“Oh!”

Patsy Starke 12/1/2019

--

--

Patsy Starke
Resistance Poetry

Registered Nurse, Transgender Woman In a lifelong transition, Parent, Grandparent, Normal every day run of the mill person, realizing my place here.