image by Alan Smithee

This House

Matthew Broyles
Resistance Poetry

--

I don’t dream
Not as much as I used to
So when I do
It makes me think

This one was odd
Hanging out with friends
Driving around town
We needed a place to crash
So I took them to my grandmother’s house
It was empty, my key worked
We were there a few hours
Until I saw a car pull up in the driveway
And suddenly remembered
My grandmother died over a year ago
Her kids sold the house
Someone else lives here now
They came in
And I had to spend an hour explaining myself
Managed to talk them out of calling the cops
I’m good at that
Talking my way out of trouble
But the whole time I was kicking myself
Why didn’t I remember?

I don’t think that dream was entirely
About my family
Increasingly
I don’t feel as if I live here anymore
This country
This society
It was sold to someone else
And I have to keep explaining at length
Why I’m still in the house
But, I want to say
I’ve been here…

--

--