Tithonus

Jk Mansi
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readJun 20, 2018

His dirge in modern times.

In Greek mythology Tithonus was granted the boon of eternal life, but not of eternal youth. Text by JkM. Photo by Donald Teel on Unsplash

Emptiness surrounds me
to vie with the emptiness within me,
this hollowed gape was once
my hallowed cape, valley, mountain.

All nature was me and I nature
trees grass sky rain did in me dwell
now all in nature, as I am
is sleet and ice and falls and swells
to every rising…falling…pulse of mine
and slows…or does it stop?

No that for me can never be
for I live on and on to see
Man fight man; country, country.
This wish on me no wish can be
The curse within, the curse without.

©JkMansi Juhi Kalra 2018. All rights reserved.

--

--

Jk Mansi
Resistance Poetry

To know where you're going find out where you've been. I strive to be joyful. I read. I write. I’m grateful.