Try Again

A poem about not giving up.

Roger Blonder
Resistance Poetry
1 min readJul 23, 2020

--

Photo by eberhard grossgasteiger on Unsplash

Countless times upon countless times
men failed God
and God failed men
Here I stand in state of awe
to try to try and try again

I want to stand upon this stage
and fill the world with light
I want to free us from the cage
and bring an end to night

I want to breathe another day
I want my want to matter
I fear the time is drawing near
For molecules to scatter

We’re held together by a force
we’ve choked beyond repair
gasping, grasping, moments passing
dissolving in thin air

Apocalyptic overtones
have clouded out the sun
what man can claim to call the day
creation comes undone

If story has a role to play
perhaps I just might have a say
I beg you join me as I pray
to keep this prophesy at bay.

Though countless times upon countless times
men failed God
and God failed men
though the burden’s been too much to bear
one more time let’s try again.

--

--

Roger Blonder
Resistance Poetry

I work to be a Wisdom Tree / To drink the light and mind the birds / My roots run deep / Connect / Come reap / The harvest of my words.