Untamed

A celebration of powerful women

Jen Kleinknecht
Resistance Poetry

--

Photo by Luke Jones on Unsplash

When you stop and look at me,
Tell me, please, what do you see?
A well-worn face? An aging mom?
My forty years lived and gone?

Do you see my subtle grays?
My aching heart, my hectic days?
My clever mind, my loving soul?
Someone trying to be whole?

Or do you see me as a pawn?
A thing to use and then move on?
Am I more than just the clothes I wear
Around my curves so you can stare?

My pay is less. My worth is not.
I won’t let you take away my shot.
My sisters fought so I could choose
And that’s a right I will not lose.

So make your jokes and play your games.
This power I wield can’t be contained.
A nasty woman? I’ll take the blame.
I’ll always live my life untamed.

This poem was inspired by Glennon Doyle’s book, Untamed.

--

--