Vertigo

a wobbly villanelle

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readAug 19, 2018

--

source: heliofil

by Joe Váradi

Vertigo

Been there, done that, and I can’t brag,
Gravity, baby, you’re such a drag,
Seems rock climbing just ain’t my bag.

Watched kids scamper up to that flag,
Half my age and twice as nimble,
Been there, done that, and I can’t brag.

Vertigo robbed me of the alpinist’s glory
To enjoy the view from my promontory,
Seems rock climbing just ain’t my bag.

My heart was afloat but my body did lag,
I rappelled down like a wounded stag,
Been there, done that, and I can’t brag.

If I never face another boulder or crag,
I’ll live a balanced life without a snag,
Seems rock climbing just ain’t my bag.

I’ll gaze on those majestic peaks from afar,
And stick to more horizontal terroir,
Been there, done that, and I can’t brag,
Seems rock climbing just ain’t my bag.

Okay that was my first villanelle. I took some liberties with the rhyme pattern for comic effect. Since then, I’ve written a second:

Thanks for your attention!

--

--

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
Resistance Poetry

Editor of No Crime in Rhymin' | Award-Winning Translator | ..."come for the sarcasm, stay for my soft side"