We Are a Battery

a poem describing a polarized America

Roger Blonder
Resistance Poetry
2 min readAug 3, 2020

--

Photo by Thomas Kelley on Unsplash

I just figured it out
We are a battery
Americans
Divided into polar opposites
We all share in common our absolute confidence that we and ours hold the absolute truth
Half of us believe that they are positive and the other half is negative
The other half believes that they are positive and the other half is negative

Call it left and right, positive and negative, black and white.
Call it whatever you want to call it but the fact remains that together
We are charged
and we are heating up

It is as if we have been designed this way
engineered to arrive at a point where we begin to generate energy
through friction and conflict and argument and action

Who built this battery that is us?

Are the reptilians feeding off of the juice we produce?
Are we powering an alien boom box in another dimension?
Whatever it is, I hope that we will soon be plugged into a giant light bulb
So we can see where we’re going

My toes are stubbed to nubs and I got a Looney Tunes bump on my head
and I can’t stop opposing you as much as you oppose me

Insert us
Drain us
Light us up
Before we explode
Please
Fuck Please!

--

--

Roger Blonder
Resistance Poetry

I work to be a Wisdom Tree / To drink the light and mind the birds / My roots run deep / Connect / Come reap / The harvest of my words.