Withdrawal

Adam Millett
Resistance Poetry
Published in
1 min readSep 23, 2020

Data ran out,
So I’m about to
Hit the roof,

Miss the wall
Crawl the walls
Feel so small
Can’t feel my call,
Can’t feel, at all

I need the clicks
I need the buzz
I need to know
That I’ve got likes
That I’m alright
That people care
Comment and share,

I am the wall
I feed the feed
I feel this feeble needless need
To look for love
Not in myself, not in ourselves
Swipe left swipe right
Swipe life, swipe all

I’m getting anxious
Out of rhythm
Need my hit of
Algorithm
Don’t inject it in my veins
Just use the ads,
It’s all the same

I am
A robot-made
Machine
Trading reality
For dreams
Just for a moment
Now unplugged
My whole existence
Feels this tug

My world just shakes,
Am I okay?
Without my screens
To lead the way?

A vibrant world
All turned to grey;

Feels like we’re
Scrolling in our graves.

--

--

Adam Millett
Resistance Poetry

Freelance writer for hire with a passion for sustainability. Check out awallofhope.com for my blog and wordchameleon.com for details about my writing services.