Work From Home

It was once a dream, but now a nightmare.

Mallory J. Dominic
Resistance Poetry

--

Photo by XPS on Unsplash

‘Twas once a wish,
That I’ve dreamt,
To work from home,
At the comfort of my fort.

Curse that 6 am alarm,
Rising earlier than the sun.
My eyes could barely open,
Whilst my mind was still a puddle.
Confused and dazed,
But, like a marathon, it was off I go.

Working from home,
My morning defiance ceased.
Woke up feeling brand new.
A change of pace,
A shift in attitude.

Working in my PJs,
Nice and easy,
Morning roasted coffee,
Toasted bread with jam,
An aromatic orchestra,
I was in paradise.
I could definitely get used to this!
Boy, have I never been so wrong.

Weeks turned to months,
The enthusiasm I had,
The joy and excitement,
Slowly fading,
Like a new shirt worn thin.
This was not what I had in mind,
It was fun while it lasted,
Now please, make it stop!

--

--

Mallory J. Dominic
Resistance Poetry

Forever having too many thoughts on my mind. The good and the bad, I’m writing them down as keepsakes — in hope to inspire me and you to be better each day.