Would You Care For A Roll?

A Villanelle

Violet DeTorres
Resistance Poetry
1 min readOct 9, 2017

--

Oh, lowly peasants, you are in need?

Did I give the appearance that I cared?

I’m self absorbed, for it’s all about me

Has there not been a recognition, but I thought we’d agreed

I may have been visually impaired

Oh lowly peasants, you are in need?

Has not FEMA been quick, are they not up to speed?

You peasants have no water, for this you are scared?

I’m self absorbed, for it’s all about me

Yes, I’m not too concerned, I must concede

Others have brought you supplies, unimpaired

Oh lowly peasants, you are in need?

I’ve been engaged with the NFL, they had supersede

My narcissism is boundless, no human is spared

I’m self absorbed, for its all about me

Woman or man, black or brown, is all I see

Under my rule, there are many despaired

Oh lowly peasants, you are in need?

I’m self absorbed, for its all about me

--

--

Violet DeTorres
Resistance Poetry

The Master’s Tools Will Never Dismantle the Master’s House // " When someone shows you who they are, believe them the first time" --Maya Angelou