Stop! Your Motivational Speeches

A Poem

Mia Lai
Resistance Poetry
1 min readMar 9, 2020

--

Image: Permission to publish obtained from ‘Tomorrow Gallery’

You told me to follow my dreams and passions
To trust my instincts
To enjoy life

You made it seem like it would all work out
That in time it would all be alright

Now you tell me that I am a loser
I should stop acting like a child
To get my guns ready for reality

Life is not made out of pink sparks
You say

Well, I only did what you advised
Followed all your guidelines
And life didn't turn out

You forgot to tell me about reality
How cold it can hit you

You, with your motivational speeches
Talked about what only 1% of the population can achieve
But you said it as if everyone could

I say
You need a reality check

Stop with your talks that lead people into the wrong road
Be real
Life is not that easy

And sorry,
Not everybody is as smart as you are.

--

--

Mia Lai
Resistance Poetry

Thoughts that keep me awake at daytime, wondering, pondering, invading the time I should be using otherwise.