THOUGHTS

Can I borrow your book, please?

Karen Downton
RESONATES
4 min readMar 12, 2021

--

Photo by Aneta Pawlik on Unsplash

In the age of more books becoming more and more available on e-readers, I seldom find myself buying hardcover books anymore, it’s so much easier and more convenient just to go into my kindle e-reader store and buy a book and cheaper too.

But I do have some books in my bookshelf at home that I admit are mainly just for added decor to the room. But today a friend of mine came over and when she looked at my books on my bookshelf she picked up one and read the back of it.

“Can I borrow this please?” I heard her say.

I had my back turned at the time as I was locking my front door but I turned to the sound of her voice and question to me.

She showed me the book she wanted to borrow. It was this one

Image provided by Author

My heart skipped a beat for a second when I saw what she wanted to borrow as part of me couldn’t imagine parting with it. This is the book I bought during my Hawaii trip in 2018 and I met the Author who to my surprise is Australian like me but now lives in Hawaii.

The author even inscribed it for me, so basically it’s not a book to me that I can just go buy again if it…

--

--

Karen Downton
RESONATES

🏆Curated writer for RESONATES From Sydney Australia 🇦🇺