THOUGHTS

Common Courtesy

But where are those good old-fashioned values…

Ben Shelley
RESONATES
Published in
5 min readJun 11, 2021

--

Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

They say that you should write what is in your heart and right now, my heart wants to write about values.

  • Whatever happened to them?
  • Have they transformed?
  • Did they get killed off in an unpublicized, yet sensational cover-up?

To my knowledge, they have simply been removed due to taking up too much time. Let me explain.

People Like Me

I was raised as an only child with (sounds like the start of a sensational movie plot) Mum and Grandparents nearby. My Dad wanted nothing to do with me, yet you cannot miss what has never been there.

My childhood was unconventional, dribbling the ball around my Nan’s legs to score a goal, reading, writing and playing video games (not at the same time). I had friends but very much kept myself to myself. This is what only children do. As a result, I developed a reflective personality.

When you listen, you hear others and let them speak. This is what I was always brought up to adhere to.

People like us listen, reflect and empathise. We see the problems around us and try to do make a…

--

--

Ben Shelley
RESONATES

Someone who has no idea about where their place is in this world, yet enjoys writing about books, education, entertainment and videogames