STRUGGLES

I haven’t come this far, to only come this far

Karen Downton
RESONATES
6 min readJun 16, 2021

--

Photo by roya ann miller on Unsplash

It’s been one of those weeks for me, which unfortunately has put me way behind in my quest to give free shout-outs to fellow medium writers. I applied for a job recently, and last week to my total amazement I found out I was shortlisted!

I’d gotten so used to the template response of “thank you for your application blah blah blah speel only to be denied any further progression. But I wasn’t raised a quitter.

I wish I could just quit but that’s just not in my DNA. So yes I was shortlisted recently for the job I applied for, I then was invited to a pre-recorded interview which was a series of online questions to which I had to answer by video.

So I did that and then the next day I was invited to complete an online assessment, finally after feeling so stagnant for so long things were in motion for me.

So I did the assessment and submitted it.

The next day I was invited to a video interview with 2 managers via Microsoft teams. I was nervous and also excited. Even though I had tried so hard not to get my hopes up I couldn’t help but feel excited that I’d never gotten this far before.

Apart from being a bit nervous, I was hopeful. But then sadly last Friday I received a phone call to say unfortunately…

--

--

Karen Downton
RESONATES

🏆Curated writer for RESONATES From Sydney Australia 🇦🇺