CONFESSIONS

Is It Okay Have a Sense of Humor on Social Media?

Or should you be concerned about offending others?

Viola Geena
RESONATES
Published in
6 min readFeb 13, 2021

--

Photo by dole777 on Unsplash

While Facebook and Instagram usage is on the decline for today’s teenagers and young adults, I remember the old days when I couldn’t wait to get home from school so I could go on Facebook. During school holidays, I’d sit at my computer all day, refreshing the Facebook homepage to see what my friends were doing in an attempt to cure boredom.

Before gaining a reputation as an old person’s app, Facebook was an escape zone for teenagers from the adults in their life. We could openly rant about our teachers at school and write whatever nonsense jokes came to mind. I had a few adult family members who added me as a friend while I was in high school but used the privacy settings to block certain posts from them if I was concerned about what their reaction may be.

When I look back on my Facebook usage from the years 2008–12, it’s crazy how silly and innocent I was. As I got older, I became more aware of how much I was sharing and how I phrased my posts. I began to add more friends who were potential professional connections in music, my career path, and I didn’t want them to see posts that read “I’m excited 4 2nite” or “I’m soooooo bored in class rn”. Yes, those are actual statuses I posted…

--

--

Viola Geena
RESONATES

Canadian writer who happens to be a violist in a symphony orchestra. All opinions are my own. Twitter: @violageena