THOUGHTS

Not Double-Checking Information is Accepting to Be Manipulated

I accept that any fact has more viewpoints, and I likely get to know only one of them, at a first glance

Bianca Zagan
RESONATES
Published in
3 min readFeb 27, 2021

--

Not double-checking information is accepting to be manipulated
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

I came up with the idea for writing this because I came to realize recently how hard it has become to distinguish between trustworthy and deceptive information.

I’m referring to serious topics, such as our health, not whether Kim Kardashian is actually using Spanx instead of her own brand of shaping underwear.

The most recent striking example I found on Google was one 176-word text that claimed that the recently approved Pfizer vaccine might cause infertility in women. I couldn’t believe that this rolled out so fast on the Internet.

How I came across it? Reading comments earlier that day on a social media thread, instead of reading in addition, at least the official package leaflet, countless people were putting forward this kind of disinformation, and I got scared.

I took my time and researched to the best of my ability where this conclusion came from. Aside from the infamous article on Google’s first page, nothing.

Today, weeks from those late December days when vaccination began, searching for the…

--

--

Bianca Zagan
RESONATES

Passionate about understanding how the irrational human mind creates our reality in 8 billion versions