NOSTALGIA

Remember Pen Pals?

Karen Downton
RESONATES
4 min readJul 2, 2021

--

Photo by Brett Garwood on Unsplash

Long before the internet and therefore e-mail, we had good old-fashioned pen and paper. I remember my teenage years I’d spend time searching for really nice sometimes even scented stationery so I could write to my friends.

Of course, these friends all lived in the same country as me, so there was really no need to buy international postage stamps and envelopes. But I do remember being so excited about opening up my letterbox and seeing letters from friends and sitting down to read their letters.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

If you remember the 1988 movie Beaches, starring Bette Midler and Barbara Hershey, you’ll know what I mean.

Then of course the internet came along and therefore e-mail. Sadly I lost touch with a lot of the friends I used to write to and for years I hadn’t received anything from them.

Then Facebook was launched which I signed up for in 2007, and suddenly I’d have people from all around the world send me invites to connect. I’ve got friends from all around the world now. Some I’ve actually met in person and some I’ve still yet to meet in person but would love to.

--

--

Karen Downton
RESONATES

🏆Curated writer for RESONATES From Sydney Australia 🇦🇺