THOUGHTS

Results of my $5 challenge 2021–2022

Karen Downton
RESONATES
3 min readApr 6, 2022

--

$5 notes in Australian Currency, Image provided by the author

Last year, I was inspired by a fellow medium writer's story of how he accomplished the $5 challenge. Vincent Teo wrote about the challenge he did in 2019 and he managed to save a whopping $700 in $5 notes.

So last year after reading his story I decided to try it. I started in February 2021 and completed it in February 2022.

I managed to save $320 in $5 notes in my challenge, so that’s sixty-four five-dollar notes I had put away for the year and happily deposited back into my bank account travel savings.

And while I totally understand it’s not extra money as such, but it is saved money which anyone can do, it just takes a lot of discipline and goal focus.

So what felt like a huge wad of cash I had saved. I took it out of the money box I had it in and put it in a zip lock bag before putting it in my handbag and making my way to the bank.

I felt so nervous having so much money in cash on me because I don’t usually carry large amounts of cash on me.

a wad of cash in $5 Australian Currency, Image provided by the author

I went into the bank and to the teller machine to make the deposit into my account. I felt as though I…

--

--

Karen Downton
RESONATES

🏆Curated writer for RESONATES From Sydney Australia 🇦🇺