Diary of Ego Death on LSD

Published in
10 min readJan 6, 2019

--

Ego-death is described as the “complete loss of subjective self-identity”, and can be brought on by a large dose of any psychedelic drug. It’s a state of being where a person is ripped from their “reality tunnel”. Ego death is essentially an experience of embodying your True Nature completely (or returning back to who you really are), temporarily.

This is my experience:

Setting the Stage

I had no idea of what spirituality, faith, or religion meant, to be truthful. I liked the idea of Buddhism, but only had an interest in learning about the philosophy because I thought that it might heal me. I knew I was broken, but I wasn’t sure how to fix myself. I wasn’t ready. I consumed drugs and alcohol to numb the pain of a troubled home life. Familial sexual abuse, emotional trauma, and a mental breakdown plagued my young life. These I know now to be ancestral traumas that I still must “de-program” in my psyche.

Perhaps my trauma led me to experiment with psychedelics, but I understand now that psychedelics helped me deal with my psychological self-mutilation…

--

--

The World Needs You. Be Present. | Yoga | Sound Healing | Meditation | Brownies |