The Stranger Kids

Snehanshu Shome
Respite Journals
Published in
3 min readJan 7, 2018

We pass through so many phases in our life and these phases help us to determine our emotions, our way of thinking, and what we care or not care in our lives. Among these phases is the time of our lives when we start questioning the existence of love. Even if we have loved countless soul since the day we were born — our mothers and fathers, teachers, friends, relatives which is just the beginning of the list. Even then it takes just one heartbreak to start questioning the value of this emotion. I too went through all this once, the woe of a tragedy, declining an existence, the tsunami of emotions. I too like the other morbid creatures of this planet started questioning the existence of this emotion. And somehow the feeling just went on. What started as a foolish heartbreak began to spread through my educated mind as logic to some scientific rationing. Such toxicity is always supported by other victims of similar incurable disease.

Something changed a few months later. My “declining that love exists” phase eventually came to an end, this was the time when I met those silly and cute and *much better than me* creatures of an NGO. These creatures were the cutest kids of the entire planet (and I am being very partial right now) and I am calling them creatures because you cannot love any other human being so easily as you can love them. Never in my life had I spent such a wonderful time as I did with them. The time had stopped, or they had made it to stop, honestly I do not know because our love for each other and the comfortability with these stranger kids was electric. They made us click hundreds of pictures of them, they made us dance with them and what not. They weren’t made of bones and muscles just love in its purest form. Somehow while I was playing a game of carrom with them I had forgotten who I was, I was transformed to the little kid in the big universe who had the power to love each and every soul who was kind to him. I found myself in them, I found my childhood.

They taught me the biggest lesson in life. Love was an element like fire, water, earth and air. If there wasn’t love there was nothing in this world. They were orphans in a strange place without a single blood connection and that made them see love, see a parent in me, in everyone that made contact to them. While we write bullshit about love and heartbreak, we aren’t even strong enough to deal with what actual heartbreak looks like. What does it feels to be in a world where nobody knows you, nobody loves you? Ask from the kids what is it to them! You’ll get your answer. In our society and relationships where there is an abundant of love, we do not care about it, to the point that we start disrespecting it and even then love exists, someone is always there to be behind your back and love unconditionally. Whenever you find yourself in a tough spot, questioning the existence of love, find that one person who loves you back unconditionally you will get your answers.

--

--