LINKS TO CAUSES: positive impact online should create positive impact IRL

#BlackLivesMatter
Responsible Business
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readAug 11, 2017

Hello. If every young money company gives back, we’re much more likely to live in a world where every old money company gives back too.

I’ve started AMI’s social good program by rotating impactful places to drive traffic in top navigation right hand column of all @ami sites. These LINKS TO CAUSES will ensure that we drive consistient traffic from relevant readers to actionable causes.

How LINKS TO CAUSES Works

The top navigation links appear in every pageview. Each cause will be relevant to the readers of the publication. I’ve curated the first rotating lists of causes, but I hope to have the community determine the cause it supports in the future — like the P.S. I Love You contributing writers did via a facebook poll (this community now supports survivors of sexual assualt by driving donations to the RAINN organization). The causes will rotate in and out of different publications. As I look at how my organization gives back, it starts with responsibly sharing the real estate we’ve created online.

Below is the list of these petitions, nonprofits and and donation campaigns that will rotate across AMI sites in the top right navigation.

Note: “Help Dhrupad Walk Again [DONATE]

Impactful Cause

Note: Save Net Neutality [PETITION]

Petitions

Note: Give to The Hunger Project

Nonprofits

I want to drive traffic to good places.

This program will start as a 3 month beta program with these LINKS TO CAUSES occupying this digital space for at least 50% of the time. This program will explore how a growing media startup can inspire people to give efficiently in the digital age, I hope.

Overall, I’m re-evaluating my business model at AMI. In reaching 10,000,000+ minutes reading per month, I’ve learned that readership is a function of quality and perspectives, but I still have some growing up to do as a businessman in the digital age, i.e. “make money better.”

Would you like to nomiate a cause to be featured atop an @AMI site?

Just reply with a paragraph about why one of our publications should support it or DM me, and we’ll review adding you to the list of places AMI readers should consider reading more and taking action.

I think we can be a part of turning readers who give a shit into people who take action. People who make shit better IRL.

Kind Regards,

David Smooke, AMI

--

--

#BlackLivesMatter
Responsible Business

https://www.davidsmooke.net/ https://hackernoon.com/ Elijah McClain, George Floyd, Eric Garner, Breonna Taylor, Ahmaud Arbery, Michael Brown, Oscar Grant,