Robin Zander
Responsive Org
Published in
2 min readSep 14, 2018

--

When I began organizing the Responsive Org community in 2015, I was just another member eager to learn about org transformation. I’d had some experience with adaptable organizations, but this community was new to me.

In the 4 years since, I’ve developed a deep appreciation for what it takes for an organization (or an individual) to grow. In this same period of time, I’ve built my cafe from 0 to 15 employees and worked with some of the biggest brands in the world towards their own Responsive goals.

When I look at the companies I’ve founded and the organizations I’ve advised, two principles stand out:

  • The importance of starting
  • Adjusting course as we go

As I wrote in the conclusion of my book, Responsive: What It Takes To Create A Thriving Organization, change comes through the tiny decisions we make every day. The world is changing more rapidly than ever before in human history, so predicting the future is an exercise in futility. What is required is that we plan for unpredictability, by staying resilient and adaptable. This comes about when we take small incremental changes, every single day, that help us navigate a constantly changing course.

The other thing that is necessary is having the courage to begin. Change isn’t easy, and the kind of change that we are requesting of our organizations (and ourselves) requires self-awareness and dedication.

My hope for the Responsive Org community is that Responsive Conference is your beginning — an opportunity to take that step forward towards your own personal or professional change efforts. Who do you need to be to create the change that you want to see in the world? That’s the question that drives me and my efforts in directing Responsive Conference. If you’re interested, I hope you’ll consider joining us on September 24th to explore your own answer to this question.

Best,
Robin

--

--

Robin Zander
Responsive Org

Bodynerd polymath entrepreneur. Founder & Director, Responsive Conference. Frequently upside down. #FutureofWork #ZanderStrong