Lifelong learning

Mahesh Kumar
Result
Published in
2 min readDec 21, 2018

I am a big fan of learning, whether it is new tech skills, reading a book or reading the reports on the next tech trends. I love that we have an ecosystem where we share, inspire, teach, learn and try new things all the time.

I have been spending the good part of the last 2 years hacking learning, thanks to inspiration from Gaurav C Tim Ferris Derek Sivers and other giants that show the way.

Today, I do the following to keep myself learning:

  • Read 2 books/week, and then write about it in a personal blog that only I read ;) I bring some of the articles into medium here
  • Journal every night to keep reflecting
  • Try to find new things to try — the latest being getting into amateur astronomy with my son by buying some telescopes for us, and peeking into the star with some maps and apps.

I did a talk on how I keep myself learning all the time with a set of intrapreneurs from SEB with whom we just concluded our program and did a hand over plan for their projects into the organisation or as spin-offs. As most of these intrapreneurs head back to their regular jobs, I felt it was important we keep the passion to create, learn and unlearn going. It is a video that runs for about 25 minutes, but I basically talk about the following:

  • My story when I started reading in India
  • Which led me into entrepreneurship
  • Which led me to meet Ola many years ago
  • Which led me to start and run Epicenter, Result, FitnessCollection etc.
  • Which led me to meet my wife and my family

The list goes on, but it is hard to connect the dots forward. But when I connect my dots backwards, I thank my curiosity to my passion to constantly learn.

Here is the PDF version for my talk (Slideshare)

--

--

Mahesh Kumar
Result
Editor for

CEO at Result, father to two wonderful boys and husband to a strong woman entrepreneur. Family first, everything digital comes a very close second.